Unite! and Rhea Bohlin recognized for community leadership

Several Washougal citizens were recognized at the Washington Association of School Administrators 2018 Honorary Award Ceremony in May at Educational Service District 112.

Longtime citizen and former Washougal School District employee Rhea Bohlin received the Community Leadership Award for her ongoing support to Washougal schools.

Rhea Bohlin has been volunteering in Washougal School District for more than 30 years. Her contributions were many, from classroom helper, fundraiser, event coordinator, and mentor.

She was an employee of the district for 13 years, working with the Highly Capable program where she was instrumental in the initial implementation of Advanced Placement courses at WHS, and making lasting and important connections with students and families.

Unite! Washougal Community Coalition also received a Community Leadership Award for its community-wide impact in promoting a healthy society with healthy families and individuals. Unite! actively partners with organizations in the area to bring prevention work that addresses the root causes of community health. Unite coalition members include community members, school representatives, youth, parents, local government, treatment, business, law enforcement, partnering prevention coalitions, youth-serving organizations, service clubs, and other involvement community service agencies.

The coalition formed with a goal to reduce substance use by youth in the Washougal community. It all started with the desire to create a safe and drug free community for our kids. This coalition now has over 50 active members, and has fully engaged parents, youth, local government, law enforcement and businesses.

Since the coalition’s formation nearly six years ago, data shows a 40% reduction in cigarette use, 30% reduction in alcohol use and 26% reduction in marijuana use among 8th and 10th graders in Washougal.

Margaret McCarthy, Paul Greenlee, and Bob Barber accepted the award for Unite.

Pictured (from left): Margaret McCarthy, ESD 112’s Deb Drandoff, Paul Greenlee, Rhea Bohlin, Bob Barber, and Dr. Patricia Boles.

UNITE community coalition

Comments are closed.

Washougal School District © 2018 All Rights Reserved. NOTICE OF NONDISCRIMINATION | ACCESSIBILITY | PRIVACY POLICY