Smarter Balanced Assessment Information

  • All the testing will be done online, and the tests are adaptive.  This means that, to a certain extent, the test questions will become more difficult – or easier – depending on each student’s responses.
  • We have created an assessment schedule (7:50 am – 10:20 am).
  • The tests are untimed, similar to previous state tests.
  • Each subject test – ELA or math – will take multiple sessions to complete; students will not finish a test in a single day.  Estimated testing time per subject is 3.5 – 4 hours.
  • Each test is composed of a computer adaptive section (multiple choice, fill in the blank, etc), plus a performance task section that will better measure students’ depth of understanding, research and analysis skills, etc.
  • All 10th graders will take the Smarter Balanced English Language Arts assessment in the spring during their English class.
  • All 11th graders who have not met standard on the Smarter Balanced English Language Arts assessment will have an opportunity to retest in the fall and spring.
  • All 11th graders will take the Smarter Balanced Math assessment in the spring.
  • 10th graders who are in Algebra II or higher will have an opportunity to take the Smarter Balance Math assessment in the spring.

Comprehensive Assessment Portal: AIR’s Washington Comprehensive Assessment Portal now available

There are two main components to the SBA: a computer adaptive test, a classroom activity, and a performance task.

  • Computer Adaptive Test: Adaptive tests taken on a computer adjust to a student’s ability by basing the difficulty of future questions on previous answers. An adaptive test gives a more precise estimate of a student’s ability than a paper / pencil test. This type of test gives an accurate measure of a student’s current performance on the new Washington state standards and is a reasonable testing experience for students.
  • Performance Task: A Performance Task challenges students to apply their knowledge and skills in response to a real-world problem. The task is a collection of questions and activities that connect to a single theme. This task is designed to measure a student’s depth of understanding, ability to answer difficult questions, and the ability to use and cite research in support of an idea. These tasks are scored by hand at the state level.


Practice Tests
Parents and students have access to sets of questions aligned to the new Washington state standards. Each practice pest has about 30 questions as well as an answer key. You will find the practice tests at the following link:

 ESD112 SBAC Resource
WHS Testing Plan
10th Graders will take the ELA assessment during Sophomore English
11th Graders will take the ELA assessment during Junior English
11th Grades will take the Math assessment….TBD
Estimated Testing Time
Washington Alternate Assessment System (WAAS)
  • The Washington Alternate Assessment System (WAAS) is a component of Washington’s comprehensive assessment program focused on providing access for students with an Individualized Education Program (IEP) to the state testing system.

    WAAS includes the following assessment instruments:

    WAAS-Portfolio. Designed for students with significant cognitive disabilities, the Portfolio is a collection of data aligned to specific skills that a student demonstrates in a classroom setting.

    Basic. A determination by a student’s IEP team to establish a proficient score at Level 2, or Basic, on the state’s annual assessment. This score determination process is accessible for all students on an IEP in grades 3 through 8 and high school.

    Graduation Options:

    Off Grade Level Assessment(s). The developmentally appropriate proficiency exams (DAPE) are accessible by 11th and 12th grade students only for purpose of meeting state graduation requirements. Each assessment is constructed to determine student skills at either elementary or middle school level of knowledge; a student may access the DAPE in reading, writing, and/or mathematics. Meeting standard is scoring at or above Level 3 or Proficient.

    Locally Determined Assessment (LDA). A series of state-prescribed assessments available in the content areas of reading, writing, and mathematics that can be selected and administered at the local school. The LDA is accessible by 12th grade students only for purpose of meeting state graduation requirements. Meeting standard is scoring at or above the established minimum grade equivalency (G.E.) for the prescribed test.

    Awareness Level Waiver. For students with disabilities at extreme low levels of cognitive interaction, IEP teams and associated districts can pursue a waiver from further state testing and the state graduation requirements linked to the state’s assessment program.

    More WAAS Information:

  • OSPI’s Guidance for Families about Special Education Service
  • Learn more about the SBA

Additional Information